YES the most enduring, ambitious and virtuosic progressive band in rock history

An Unauthorized YES Biography – in my effort to contribute to THE ROCK AND ROLL HALL OF FAME success in 2017.

Teaming up for a Good Band to be Elected and Inducted !

By fusing the cinematic soundscapes of King Crimson with the hard Rock edge of The Who and the soaring harmonies and melodies of Simon and Garfunkel, they took Progressive Rock from a small audience of aficionados to radio airwaves and football stadiums all over America.

Hits like “Roundabout” and “I’ve Seen All Good People” appealed to Rock fans who did not even think they liked Prog Rock, while album-side length epics like “Close To The Edge” and “The Gates Of Delirium” represent the genre at its absolute finest.

Steve Howe remains one of the most underrated guitarists in Rock history, while keyboardist Rick Wakeman, bassist Chris Squire and drummers Bill Bruford and Alan White will always be regarded as musicians simply without peer.

Frontman  Jon Anderson is an alto tenor singer who still hits the highest of high notes 45 years after forming the group. While many of their contemporaries wilted once punk hit, YES has managed to change with the times, and they reemerged in the 80s as an MTV-ready commercial force, landing massive hits on the charts like “Owner Of A Lonely Heart.”

While prog giants like Pink Floyd, Genesis and Emerson Lake & Palmer retired years ago, YES continues to tour (albeit with some new members) at a pace that would leave bands half their age breathless.


There are two other Keyboards Giants who should be considered in the YES history and they are the Greek VANGELIS and Japanese KITARO – who both teamed up with unequal electric throat frontman named JON ANDERSON !

Every good album counts on this nomination, because they are all Music Jewels.


Beginning October 18 and continuing through 11:59 p.m. EST on December 5, 2016, fans can cast votes for who they believe to be most deserving of induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

The top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2017 inductees. Fans will need to login with a Facebook account or email to vote. Voting is capped at one ballot per day.Eligible year:

Number of nominations:  3
Nominated in:

2014, 2016, 2017
YES Unforgettable Members  are  Jon Anderson,  Bill Bruford, Steve Howe, Trevor Rabin, Chris Squire, Rick Wakeman, Alan White and Tony Kaye


Toni Basanta




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s