Two albums by guitarist Larry Newcomb Quartet, one ft. Bucky Pizzarelli

 Top Customer Reviews

Format: MP3 Music
‘Spontaneous and intense “no-safety-net” authentic JAZZ  with exceptionally beautiful guitar tone, composition and great “feel!”
From the album notes we learn,
‘Guitarist Larry Newcomb performs classic and original Jazz and Blues both as a soloist and in Duo, Trio and Quartet ensembles.
Larry has contributed a wealth of electric and acoustic guitar stylings in performances and on recordings with Bucky Pizzarelli, Jack Wilkins, Seleno Clarke, Billy Kaye, Jon Weiss, Mike Camoia, Larry Newcomb Trio, his Duo Jonaitis & Newcomb, the band Wolfgang’s Revenge and with Babs Winn & the Kickin’ Boogie Band.

Newcomb has studied with guitar masters Bucky Pizzarelli, Mark Elf, Pat Martino, Howard Roberts and Randy Johnston. His affable performing style is informed by a PhD in Music History and a seasoned master’s understanding of the Jazz idiom.’

And from Larry’s inimitable manner he offers,

‘The path to Jazz mastery is long, challenging, rewarding and never-ending.
I started out transcribing then quoting great Blues guitarists including B. B. King, Albert King, Freddie King, Eric Clapton and Duane Allman.
In my early 20s,  I heard Jim Hall, George Benson, Joe Pass, Barney Kessel, Herb Ellis and Kenny Burrell.
My direction was established. I slowly developed a repertoire of standard tunes; and, by transposing the work of the masters, I learned to address each harmonic element of a tune in its own rite–especially the creation and resolution of tension from each dominant chord to the temporary or permanent tonic.
Throughout my musical journey, I’ve strived to play what I hear, and to make each note ring with colorful, clear and heartfelt beauty.
LIVE INTENTIONALLY ! was recorded live.
I wanted to capture the spontaneous intensity and energy of playing  Jazz without a safety net. I also wanted to test my own performance and improvisatory skills in real time.  I wanted to “walk the walk” without relying on overdubbing solos later or “fixes-in-the-mix.”
Pianist Eric Olsen, bassist Dmitri Kolesnik, drummer Jimmy Madison and I set up together at Tedesco Studios. I counted off my three originals and six standards and the result is this recording. The message of the title is the same whether LIVE INTENTIONALLY ! strikes you as “intentionally recorded live!” or “live your life with intentionality!”

This is our genuine, spontaneous playing, reaching for all the joy and beauty we could capture in each moment.’

The ensemble is Larry Newcomb, guitar, Eric Olsen, piano, Dmitri Kolesnik, bass, and Jimmy Madison, drums

The tracks are as follows:
Be My Love  / All The Things You Are  /  Thanks Jack ! (To Jack Wilkins) /  Sure Thing
Instant Water  /  Olhos De Gato   /  Au Private   /  Stardust   / Have You Met Miss Jones?This recording is quintessential Jazz – live, with all the freedom of spontaneous expression that offers. Brilliant. Grady Harp, July 15 2015

THIS ALBUM IS ALSO HIGHLY RECOMMENDABLE

5/20s LARRY NEWCOMB QUARTET WITH BUCKY PIZZARELLI

“LIVING TRIBUTE” Essential Messenger EM22017

Download:  http://www.radiosubmit.com/rs/LarryNewcombQuartet

My comment

I have presented both albums in my radio show THE CUBAN BRIDGE and now I want to fuse its legacy and also praise THE LIFE IN MUSIC of Guitar legend Bucky Pizzarelli thru Mr. Newcomb’s Live Tribute. We are all in debt with Bucky !.  

Also take a chance to present JACK WILKINS with the same spirit in abundance in Guitar Productions and supporting his peers. I have read of many Tributes to Jack Wilkins by American guitarists, for instance Sheryl Bailey, Corey Christiansen  and Larry Newcomb, but the first time I heard his name was thru my Cuban buddy and Guitarist Jorge Chicoy. 

However, I think he should be better known, so here he is pictured with Larry Newcomb.

Toni Basanta

DJ Host of The Cuban Bridge on the radio and on television

http://www.wwpv.org

http://www.mmctv15.org

Now we have a new TV show

HAVANA FAIRFAX CONNECTION @  LCATV Channel 15 in Colchester

http://www.lcatv.org

You can watch both TV shows thru

http://www.vimeo.com/mmctv

 

Leave a Reply

